Release Planning at Enterprise Scale – An Inside-Out Narrative

Some of you may have been following the series I’ve been posting on Release Planning at Enterprise Scale. This series of posts is aggregated under blog the category “Release Planning” and identified as (AERP1-n.) You may find it most helpful to read the posts from oldest (#1) to newest (#n) as it makes a better story.

In any case, I got a little bored with my traditional writing style and its abstracted, top-down description of best practices and thought I’d try a different tact for this important practice. The result is an article that was just published in the Agile Journal, which, by the way, is a great source for continuous and current thinking on the state of this movement. It also offers some of the best and current thinking on adoption patterns as well as team-based and enterprise practices.

This article provides an “inside out” (software practitioners perspective) view of enterprise release planning. You can find it here:

Experiences in Release Planning at Enterprise Scale: Two Seminal Days in the Life of an Agile Newbie

I’m interested to see whether readers find this style of writing effective, or not. Please feel free to comment there (on the content) and here (on the style.)

2 thoughts on “Release Planning at Enterprise Scale – An Inside-Out Narrative

  1. I think the style on both approaches is great – some folks prefer a longer consolidated article. Others prefer reading bit by bit. What I like about the total approach is that I was able to read little by little over time and know I have a reference article for future use and for pushing to folks who need to learn about release planning. Job well done!

  2. Nice work Dean, this is very consumable. As we have discussed, you have to experience agile to get it. We learned this with teams in the last five years and we need to take those learnings to the executive teams. Large Scale release planning is still a black art and it needs to become the way large teams plan. I sure owe Jean Tabaka a ton for teaching me this art. I think Michael N. Kennedy did a nice job with this in his narrative book on adopting Lean in the manufacturing sector. I learned a bunch from this book and sure appreciate Mary and Tom Poppendieck for bringing it to my attention.

Leave a Reply

